I Guess I'm a Film Photographer

I’ve been slacking on my micro.blogging. I still need to post some more thoughts on Storm of Steel I just haven’t been able to force myself to write lately. I have been doing a fair amount of photography.

I’ve finally run through what I think is the first roll of film that I’ve ever taken with a 35mm SLR. Sure, I’ve used the disposable film cameras but never a legit analog SLR. So, I picked up a Pentax K1000 and 50mm lens about two months ago and have patiently worked my way through 36 frames of Ilford Delta 400 film. I went with a black and white film for my first because it seems to suit the dreary days we have during the winter and early spring.

It took me so long because I was worried about how they would turn out, would they be in focus, what if the framing is wrong, etc. Well, most of the roll turned out pretty well, I think. I got a few good shots of the animal friends, some nature shots, and some more urban shots.

Shelter along the Rachel Carson Trail in North Park

Old water tower at the site of the US Steel mill in Homestead, PA

Waffles taking a quick break from birdwatching to pose for a photo

Pseudo-selfie taken along the Great Allegheny Passage rail trail