This is photograph 136 of my 365 Project.

I’ve been trying to post a photo a day since some time last November. If you’re interested, the full album is on flickr… here. But that’s not why I’m posting this photo.

I’m exposed to a dazzling array of graffiti almost every day. Most of the time I’m told who was there, who to call for a good time, who sucks, who rules, who is in love… in other words, the graffiti is terrible and nothing more than an eyesore. There’s little effort, no creativity, and - in most cases - no one is ever going to see it. Best case, very few people see it. The locations are generally easy to access culverts and bridge abutments in populated areas. But most people have the good sense to not go wandering into culverts. I like to and I get paid to do it.

I’m posting this graffiti because it is uncommon in that it appears to have taken some effort on the part of the artist. It’s not the most profound thought, but in a sea of garbage graffiti it stands out. The arrows around the words point to the standard graffiti and to one of the most graphic graffiti depictions of sex that I’ve ever encoutered. It was no masterpiece, it still looked like is was painted by someone with the sense of humor of a 15 year old and the art skills of a 5 year old. So the bar was set low, but this graphic cleared it with ease.