DIY Tarp Tent UPDATE 1

I ordered the material for my tarp tent and I’ve already made my first mistake.

I decided to go with 1.1oz Silpoly (Olive Drab) as the main fabric and HyperD 300 (Olive Yellow) to reinforce the corners. I order 9yds of the silpoly and 1yd of the HyperD. The mistake came when I only ordered a 3 yard length of the silpoly. That is appropriate for the length but it would only cover half the width. So I quickly ordered a second 3 yard cut and that has saved me the trouble of cutting a 9 yard length of fabric in half.

I also ordered some thread (Guterman MARA 70), nylon grosgrain (for loops at the corners) and a pack of needles.

Next I’m going to come up with a quick sketch, to make sure I have the tie-off points where I want them, and I have to get a sewing machine and learn how to use it.