A Very Average Day

Day 9: Simply write about your day. What time you woke up, what your commute was like, what you did at work, how you spent your evening. (AoM: Jumpstart Your Journaling)

I started the day a little late. I finally managed to get a decent amount of sleep last night and was moving a bit slow in the morning. That’s usually not too big of a deal. I have an hour long drive to get to the area I’ve been working in so the coffee has plenty of time to kick in. I usually spend that time listening to podcasts. Today it was part 3 of The Unravelling. This series is an interesting retrospective of the Iraq War and Jocko’s involvement as a Navy SEAL officer. I recommend both The Unravelling and Jocko Podcast.

Since we’re near the end of the month, we have wrapped up our regularly scheduled bridges for the month and have been relegated to picking up additional work. Today, we visited a couple of under 8 bridges. Under 8’s have a span less than 8’ and typically get inspected on anywhere from a 24 to 60 month interval based on their condition. The first was a rather poor looking cast-in-place culvert that was actually not in too bad of shape. The area was pretty nice too. I like working in the more rural areas as I am able to scope out property that is for sale. The second “bridge” was basically a square drainage pipe. I had to crawl through a 36” diamater pipe just to get a decent look. Again, generally good condition.

This evening, Sarah and I ate dinner while watching another episode of Brooklyn Nine-Nine. It seems to be our go-to show for dinner lately. Now… here I am. Typing a mundane blog post about my day, which was for the most part very average.