Day 5: Write a letter to a loved one. Maybe it’s a wife, a parent, an estranged friend, or a grandparent you never really got to say goodbye to. (AoM: Jumpstart Your Journaling)

Bri,

It’s been a little over 10 years since you passed away unexpectedly. I think about you pretty much every day. I wonder what you would be doing nowadays. I wonder what you would think of the world. It’s a lot different now.

Sarah and I try to take a shot of Firewater twice a year for you. You’d be bummed that they don’t make it anymore. We’ll have to find a different cinnamon liquor once this bottle runs out.

We have a dog and two cats now. I know you’d love Barley. He’s almost 10. Bear and Waffles are the cats. Bear is a year old and has his moments - good and bad. But we still love him. Waffles is only 4 months old, but he’s a pretty cool little dude. I found him at work crying underneath a section of guide rail.

We try to visit you when we’re in town. It’s always nice and quite there. Peaceful.

I miss you.

Love, your brother