Hello Micro.World!

To get me started on this blogging adventure, my first 31 posts will loosely follow a series of prompts designed to jumpstart a journaling habit. The idea comes from an article on the Art of Manliness website and can be found here. Since this is day 1, here is a little bit about me and why I am beginning this blog.

My name is Jeff. My family is made up of my wife (for 13 years), our dog Barley, and two cats: Bear and Waffles. I am a civil engineer currently working as a bridge inspector. It’s a job that I never imagined myself doing and now I can’t imagine myself not doing it. I am able to work outside just about every day and I get to see some aspects of infrastructure that the general public will only ever take for granted. My favorite activities include hiking/backpacking, music (playing and listening), biking, photography, reading, and learning new things. Lately, I’ve been trying to learn more about cryptocurrencies, programming with Python, and a little Japanese.

I managed to find this site from indieweb.org. I really like the concept of the indieweb community and may pursue the development of my own website at some point, but I thought that micro.blog would be a nice starting point for now. While I have been a member of a few social media websites for some time, I have never really felt compelled to engage with others on any of those sites. I hope that this blog develops into a space that I can use to hash out my thoughts, share my creations, celebrate success, learn from failure, and ultimately curate as a portfolio of my life.